Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense in Florida, and if you are convicted, you can face severe penalties that can impact your life in many ways. In addition to the legal consequences, a DUI conviction can affect your personal and professional life, making it essential to understand the potential penalties you may face. In this blog post, we will discuss the different penalties you may face for a DUI conviction in Florida.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, your driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of six months. A skilled criminal defense attorney can help you challenge the suspension and potentially get your license reinstated.
The fines for a DUI conviction in Florida can be significant and depends on how many convictions you've had previously. It's also increased if there was a minor in your vehicle and you had a blood/breath alcohol level (BAL) of 0.15 or higher.
- First Conviction: A fine between $500 to $1,000
- Second Conviction: A fine between $1,000 to $2,000
- Third Conviction: A fine between $2,000 to $5,000
- Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: A fine of at least $2,000
Depending on the severity of the offense, you may face jail time for a DUI conviction in Florida. For a first-time offense, the maximum sentence is six months, while subsequent convictions can result in longer sentences.
Ignition Interlock Device
In Florida, if you are convicted of a DUI and had a BAL of 0.15 or higher, you are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. This device prevents you from starting your car if you have alcohol in your breath.
A DUI conviction in Florida will result in a criminal record, which can have long-term consequences. It can affect your ability to get a job, rent an apartment, or obtain a professional license.
If you are facing DUI charges in St. Augustine, FL, contact Taylor & Waldrop Attorneys today. Our team of skilled attorneys has the knowledge and experience to help you fight the charges and protect your future.