Overview of Misdemeanors
Defending Clients in Misdemeanor Cases throughout St. Johns County
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in St. Augustine, Ponte Vedra, St. Johns, or in the surrounding areas of Florida, you have the right to defend yourself in a court of law. Your best defense in any misdemeanor case is to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. We strongly advise you to contact Taylor & Taylor to set up a free, initial consultation with a lawyer who can review your case and advise you on how best to proceed. Our firm's legal team has decades of experience in the field of criminal defense and we focus primarily on this field of law, which gives us a cutting edge in handling your case.
Misdemeanor Cases in Florida
A misdemeanor is generally considered to be a less serious offense than a felony and is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, probation of up to 1 year, and fines up to $1,000. Examples of misdemeanors include:
- Shoplifting (petit theft)
- Simple assault
- Domestic violence battery
- Disorderly conduct
- Criminal mischief
- Violation of a restraining order
- Driving with a suspended license
- Resisting an officer (without violence)
Many people think that because a misdemeanor is such a minor offense, they need not worry about the consequences. A misdemeanor, however, will result in a criminal record. If you are placed on probation because of it, you will have to adhere to the terms of your probation or face jail as a consequence. Furthermore, an experienced and skilled attorney may be able to get misdemeanor charges dismissed or penalties reduced. That is why it is important for you to discuss your case with an attorney at our firm so that you can get the exact legal counsel you need from a seasoned legal professional who knows the law and the system in this area. Contact a lawyer from our
criminal defense firm to discuss your misdemeanor charges today.