Out-of-State DUI Offenses
Arrested for DUI while visiting St. Augustine, Florida?
Whatever the reason, if you find yourself under arrest while vacationing in St. Johns County from out of state, there is a bewildering set of laws that could apply to your case. At Taylor & Taylor Attorneys, our legal advocates are well-versed in these laws. More than that, we understand your legally protected rights, and we know how to find winning DUI defenses. We know what is at stake for you. We are ready to put more than four decades of defense experience into your case. Don't hesitate to find out how our St. Augustine DUI defense lawyers can help you out of this stressful situation.
Contact our office today to schedule your free initial consultation!
The Consequences of an Out-of-State DUI in Florida
Florida is member state of the Non-Resident Violator Compact (NRVC) and the Driver License Compact (DLC), and what this means is that your driving record is shared among most states. If are ticketed in Florida, all member states will be made aware of it. So if your license is suspended in Florida, it could be suspended in your state as well. It works the other way around too; if your license has been suspended in a member state, Florida will uphold that same suspension.
Do you have any prior DUI convictions? If the conviction was in another member state, then the Florida DMV will know about it, and your license would be suspended as if you had committed a
repeat DUI offense in Florida, not a
first time DUI.
Did you refuse to take a breath or blood test? Then your license could be suspended for a year across all member states. If you have previously refused a DUI test in a member state and you then refuse chemical tests in Florida, you could face 18 months of license suspension.
To Sum Up
In brief, if you are arrested for drunk driving in Florida, then you could face license penalties in Florida and all member states, including your home state, and then you would also face Florida's criminal penalties for a DUI offense. Find out if your state is a member of the NRVC or DLC, or you can talk to a St. Augustine DUI lawyer directly about the consequences of your out-of-state DUI arrest.
Find Skilled Advocacy with Our St. Augustine DUI Attorneys
Our St. Augustine criminal lawyers have more than 40 years of collective experience, emphatically defending the rights of the accused. Our focus and skill have enabled us to secure a significant rate of not guilty verdicts. From start to finish, we are prepared to help you. We can take immediate action to save your license in a Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) hearing, and we can mount a powerful defense against the far-reaching penalties of a Florida DUI. You can trust your out-of-state DUI case to our legal team.
Call (888) 387-9958 to contact Taylor & Taylor Attorneys today!